Don’t Tempt Me⭐⭐⭐ (All aboard the Express train!)

Warning: Adult Erotic Romance, proceed with caution. *winks*


Author: Sylvia Day
Pages: 277
Genre: Adult Historical Romance
Series: Georgian #4
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781405912297




Simon Quinn can have any woman he wants, but he prefers them jaded, worldly, and free of illusions. His life is one of danger and temporary pleasures. An Irish commoner, he has nothing more than his expertise as a lover and mercenary to recommend him and no title, property, or family to redeem him.

Lysette Rousseau is a deadly beauty who can seduce or betray with equal skill. She should be just the sort of woman Simon entertains, but something about her sets him on edge. At times she is a femme fatale he cannot abide, at others she is warm, sweet, and irresistibly alluring. His reactions to both sides of her are equally powerful, but for opposite reasons. It seems almost as if there are two women in one…

Twins!
…one wounded and exploited, the other innocent but strong. Lynette Rousseau will do anything to reclaim the sister who doesn’t remember her. She will gain the proficiency required to enter the underworld her sibling occupies. But how will she defend herself against the enigmatic, seductive Simon Quinn? A man who can liberate Lysette, but whose insatiable desires may ensnare Lynette forever…”

Goodreads Synopsis


Story:

Wow, this could have been really good. The plot was interesting, the characters had potential and I do love steamy historical romance. But telling this story with the same speed as the Shinkansen train really was a bad idea. It felt watered down and had no time to stop and make an impression on me. Plus that it included a new romance plot in the form of Lysette and Lynette’s mothers love life before marriage. Which was a great story on its own. But it was all a blurry scenery you experience when you’re just rushing to get to your destination.
I would have loved to see this book with a bit more meat on its bones, or as two books in fact. Flesh out the main story and take out the backstory and make it a separate book. I would read the shit out of that!


World:
The story occurs in London during the Georgian era of English history, and the whole series is named after it. Society relied heavily on the rules of etiquette during this era to avoid causing as many scandals as possible. Because your social status is pretty much everything during this era. But as in the second book, where the characters can be considered outcasts from society, we now follow people that are a part of it but are not that fussed about following the rules.


Characters:

Simon and Lysette has been introduced in the other books, and them stepping up to main characters did not make me feel closer to them. In fact, in Lysette’s case, it had the opposite effect. She went from independent-icy-assassin to victim and dependent on everyone else at the snap of two fingers, and I stopped caring just as quickly. But the newly introduced character Lynette was the one who gave me a headache.. Nothing she does makes sense! And Simon instantly got a huge case of the dumb-dumbs when she entered his life.. Lord Save me!
I don’t hate the characters, I don’t like what this story-arc did to them. Why ”fix” something that was not broken!?


Romance/Hotness:
Since there’s 3 romances in this book, I’ll give you a quick overlook of my thoughts;

First: Ooooh! This is grea.. Where did they go?
Second: Ok, they’re cute. But I’ll still name them Dumb and Dumber.
Third: Is this a Sleeping Beauty and Anastasia crossover-retelling?

I’ll let you who’s reading this judge how well 3 romances can be written and explored in 277 pages. I know how I feel.


Conclusion:

I’m happy to be done with this romance series for now. I know I’ll probably reread one or two of the books sometime in my life, but it will probably not be ”Don’t Tempt me”. I don’t hate it, in fact I thought it had some enjoying qualities. But It’s a one time thing and not a ride you can go on over and over again.
3 stars because even though the story was a bit dumb in a soap-opera way, is was still kinda fun.

Sylvia Day // Goodreads review // Instagram

One thought on “Don’t Tempt Me⭐⭐⭐ (All aboard the Express train!)

Leave a comment